Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Marks to grade conversion formula

New Assessment Scheme in CBSE Schools

Under Under the new system, students will be evaluated through formative and summative assessments throughout the academic year that will be divided into two terms. While formative assessment includes continuous evaluation throughout the year, summative assessment will require students to appear for exams at the end of each term.
Instead of marks, students will now be evaluated on a 9-point grading system. Students will also get grades for their co-scholastic and learning skills as well, for which the modalities are under consideration. These grades would also be reflected in the report card.
CBSE chairman Vineet Joshi said: “Apart from de-stressing students, the new system would ensure that standards don’t fall. It would also encourage students to showcase their creative skills.” However, he said option of grade system will be available only to students who continue in the same school in class XI.
In CCE we will have two parts.
1. Formative Assessment2. Summative Assessment.
Formative assessment will evaluate and grade the class work, home work, other assignments and projects. There will be 2 formative assessment each in the first and second terms. Each assessment will consist of 10 marks.
Summative Assessment will be based on the end-term examinations. There will be one end-term examination for each term. The first end-term examination will consist of 20 marks whereas the second term examination will carry 40 marks.